Life is a Dream

“Life is an opportunity, benefit from it.
Life is beauty, admire it.
Life is a dream, realize it.
Life is a challenge, meet it.
Life is a duty, complete it.
Life is a game, play it.
Life is a promise, fulfill it.
Life is a sorrow, overcome it.
Life is a song, sing it.
Life is a struggle, accept it.
Life is an adventure, dare it.
Life is luck, make it.
Life is too precious, do not destroy it.
Life is life. Fight for it.”
Mother Theresa

I don’t know what changed in me. Maybe it was the upcoming 25th birthday. Maybe it was the seven months of desolate unemployment (permit me a skosh of journalistic flair, to paraphrase my uncle). Maybe it was the inevitable crushing fear of what happens after college graduation, a fear that was delayed when I moved to Iowa to work for the President. But in the past few weeks I’ve felt much more compelled to see the world, and not just in a flippant, “Oh I’ll get around to it eventually” manner. I’ve challenged myself to see and do as much as I can before my 30th birthday, not because I think life suddenly ends at 30, but because I think I still have so much to learn before I start settling down.

My aunt told me the other night she thought I was handling this period of my life very well, even in the face of being beaten down by people I had been loyal to for years, having to rely on my parents financially, and the insecurity that comes with endless job searches that yield no results. While I’ve finally found a job I really enjoy and am excited about, the journey to this point was absolutely challenging. In some ways it feels like the end of an era, but in many other ways, it feels like a new beginning (#anustart).

It’s possible that my recent yearnings to travel has come from re-watching episodes of Doctor Who, watching him get into all kinds of adventures, the Earth still standing because of him. While I know that there will be times when I will be travelling alone, and while that might drive some people crazy, I’ve always been enamored by the idea of the lone traveller. As an introvert, I do tend to enjoy my solitude once in a while, but of course have to balance that with surrounding myself with beloved family and friends.

If you haven’t watched the video about Zach Sobeich, then you should watch it now. When given months to live, he embraced life fully, touching those around him with his music, love, and beautiful, amazing spirit. Zach’s story inspired me, and helped me to come to terms with my silly problems and how life is too short to be upset or angry or bitter. We become stronger when we look at what is supposed to destroy us in the eye and say, “No.” Of course there were many successes in my early twenties, and I do not discount those, but I have always loved a good challenge. And just like Mother Theresa said, “Life is an adventure, dare it.”

So, life, I double dog dare you. Show me what you got.

Leave a Reply

